Skip to content

Just Upcycle It

July 25, 2008

I grew up recycling. My mother worked for DEP (the Department of Environmental Protection) when I was a wee one, so I have fond memories of cleaning up parks and picking up litter. Hell, I was even in a Tick Fashion Show where we modeled the latest fashions from Gap and Eddie Bauer while also illustrating how to be safe in the woods. Since we had our socks rolled over our pants and gloves over our sleeves, I do think the word fashion was used very loosely. Have I mentioned that this was during the phase of my life where I wore construction boots every day? Well, it was.

But, I digress. The point is that recycling and being green are certainly not new concepts. They aren’t new to me and they probably aren’t new to you. But now they are in vogue. I could be cynical and doubt the level of commitment corporations and individuals are making towards achieving environmentally-friendly goals. However, I’d prefer to look at the bright side. While perusing one of my favorite sites last night (the almighty Etsy – home to crafters and artisans around the globe), I was pleasantly surprised to see how many shops were committed to upcyling and recycling. Unlike the Tick Fashion Show I experienced, I’m finding proof that it is possible to be stylish and green. I invite you to look at the images below where ideals and fashion combine seamlessly.

Clockwise from top left: Toidle Neck Deko (made of bone, polymer and leather of a deer killed in the 70s) by Perishables; Digit Necklace (made from leather upholstery cut-offs) by Mainichi; Scrabble Tile Pendant (made of – you guessed it – a scrabble letter tile) by HomeStudio.

From left to right: Recycled Sail Purse by Reiter8; Annie’s Organic Peace Pasta Notebook by theScenicRoute; Earrings Upcycled from Cd’s by UpCycleMart; Yellow Swallow Wristlet (made of inner tube) by SecondHandCyclist.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. reiter8 permalink
    July 26, 2008 10:04 am

    Thanks for pulling together this cool group and featuring my recycled sail bag! The necklace by Mainichi is very cool. Tip: Search tags by ‘teamecoetsy’ and you’ll find a huge sellection of eco friendly handmade items!

  2. Leigh permalink
    July 28, 2008 1:23 pm

    Thanks for the tip, reiter8! Have I seen you at the Brooklyn Flea? I feel like I might have.

  3. reiter8 permalink
    July 28, 2008 8:34 pm

    Yes, I love the Flea. I will be back in Sept – maybe a Sunday in late August if I can swing it.

Leave a Reply

