Skip to content

Exploring Somerville – Davis Square

November 2, 2009

While visiting dear friends Lindsey & Ben in Salem, we took some time to stop by nearby Somerville for an afternoon of shopping, tapas and drinks. I absolutely adored this town and the three businesses below.

1. Magpie

magpie store davis square somerville mass

1. DSC_1214, 2. DSC_1199, 3. Inside Magpie, 4. Magpie Chalkboard by Aaron

Magpie is a gift store that caries hip handmade crafts, goods by indie designers and works by local artists. It also happens to feature the work of many Constant Cravings favorites. I felt like I was walking through a living, breathing catalog version of this blog. Of course I was smitten! The online shop is currently closed but you can submit your e-mail to be notificed once it’s reopened.

2. Poor Little Rich Girl

poor little rich girl davis square somerville mass

This vintage & consignment shop (with a smattering of new modern designs) is extremely well-curated. Impeccably organized by decade, the racks upon racks of dresses were a delight to peruse. I ended up helping a young man I’ve never met purchase a vest that fit him like a second skin. Then I purchased a navy blue birdcage veil, which I hope to wear to my going away soiree. I’m seriously considering bringing birdcage veils back in a big big way! I’d strongly recommend a stop at Poor Little Rich Girl if you’re in the Boston area.

3. Diva Lounge

diva lounge davis square somerville mass

I’ll be honest, my friends and I were lured into Diva Lounge by the sign advertising $1 tapas. Upon entering the lounge (which has its own entrance to the right of the restaurant) we found a cozy and sophisticated bar. The drinks were delicious and a selection of $1 tapas was the perfect snack to tide us over until dinner. A cute place to go with your girlfriends or on a date.

Have you been to Davis Square? What are your recommendations?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

